Here, an artist has portrayed the journey to Míctlan, one of the four realms where an Aztec could go after death. The destination corresponded to the way the person died. Those who died by lightning or were drowned went to the lush and foggy realm of the rain god Tlaloc. Those who died in battle, were sacrificed on the altar of a god, or died giving birth to their first child, went to Tonatiuhichan, the realm of the sun god. The third realm, called Míctlan, is where Mictecacihuatl and her consort Mictlantecuhtli reigned. It was a dark place for those who died of old age or a common disease. The final realm, Chichihuacuauhco, was reserved for children, who would be nurtured and prepared for their return to Earth and a second chance at life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s